Governments from the Constituent Legislature to the present

The governments of the twelve legislatures, plus the Constituent Legislature, span a period from 5 July 1977 to the present.

During this time, there have been 55 cabinets headed up by six different presidents of the government.

There were two successive governments of the Union of the Democratic Centre (Spanish acronym: UCD), headed up by Adolfo Suárez, in the Constituent Legislature.

The 1st Legislature contained the largest number of cabinets in total - nine - four of them headed up by Adolfo Suárez and the other five by Leopoldo Calvo-Sotelo. The UCD was the governing party.

The two cabinets comprising the 2nd Legislature were headed up by Felipe González, with the Spanish Socialist Workers Party (Spanish acronym: PSOE) as the governing party.

The PSOE was also the governing party of the 3rd Legislature, which comprised two different cabinets, of the 4th Legislature, in which there were six cabinets, and of the 5th Legislature, which comprised five cabinets. Felipe González headed up all of them.

The 6th Legislature was made up of four different cabinets under the People's Party (Spanish acronym: PP), headed up by José María Aznar. The 7th Legislature comprised five different cabinets under the PP and also headed up by José María Aznar.

There were five cabinets in both the 8th Legislature and the 9th Legislature, under the governance of the PSOE and headed up by José Luis Rodríguez Zapatero.

The governing party of the 10th Legislature is the PP, headed up by Mariano Rajoy.

At the start of the 11th Legislature on 13 January 2016, the last Cabinet formed under the 10th Legislature remains in place in an acting capacity.

The 12th Legislature is constituted on 19 July 2016. The most recent Cabinet of the 11th Legislature continues in place in an acting capacity, except for the Minister for Public Works, who resigned from her ministerial position to take on the post of the Speaker of the Lower House of Parliament. The Minister for Justice has taken on the ordinary affairs corresponding to the Ministry of Public Works.

As a result of the resignation of the Minister for Health, Social Services and Equality, in order to stand in the regional elections in the Basque Country, the acting Minister for Employment and Social Security, Fátima Báñez, has taken on the ordinary duties of the Ministry for Health, Social Services and Equality, pursuant to Royal Decree 323/2016, of 10 August.

The first Government of the XII legislature was appointed on 4 November 2016.

In the 12th Legislature, from 19 July 2016 to 1 June 2018, the government of Mariano Rajoy Brey, from the PP, was in power. As from 1 June 2018, the President of the Government is Pedro Sánchez Pérez-Castejón, from the PSOE.