Pedro Sánchez presents 22 members of first coalition government of Spanish democracy

President's News - 2020.1.12

Moncloa Palace, Madrid

This government will be formed by four vice-presidencies that will address the major transformations that the President of the Government outlined in detail in his investiture speech: territorial understanding, social justice, the digital transformation of the economy, the ecological transition and full equality for women - the latter will permeate the integrity of the government as the President of the Government stated in his institutional declaration.

Pedro Sánchez highlighted that "this is a government born from a vocation to serve all Spanish people, and which begins with the aim of using dialogue to resolve differences and that will act with an active and decisive spirit".

The President of the Government also underlined the professionalism of the individuals who make up this new government and pointed to "the abundance of profiles of unequivocal economic jurisdiction to address the challenges we face". A government that has women heading up three of the four vice-presidencies of the government and in which half of the portfolios will be held by women. "Spain will never again return to a country of women without a voice", claimed Pedro Sánchez.

In his speech, Pedro Sánchez also sought to express his gratitude for the excellent work carried out by the ministers who leave their posts in this new era; "they have my full gratitude for having contributed correctly and loyally to this project in its initial phase".

Composition of the Government

  • President of the Government: Pedro Sánchez Pérez-Castejón
  • Vice-President of the Government and Minister for the Presidency, Parliamentary Relations and Democratic Memory: Carmen Calvo Poyato
  • Vice-President of the Government and Minister for Social Rights and 2030 Agenda: Pablo Iglesias Turrión
  • Vice-President of the Government and Minister for Economic Affairs and Digital Transformation: Nadia Calviño Santamaría
  • Vice-President of the Government and Minister for Ecological Transition and Demographic Challenge: Teresa Ribera Rodríguez
  • Minister for Foreign Affairs, European Union and Cooperation: Arancha González Laya
  • Minister for Justice: Juan Carlos Campo Moreno
  • Minister for Defence: Margarita Robles Fernández
  • Government Spokesperson and Minister for the Treasury: María Jesús Montero Cuadrado
  • Minister for Home Affairs: Fernando Grande-Marlaska Gómez
  • Minister for Transport, Mobility and Urban Agenda: José Luis Ábalos Meco
  • Minister for Education and Vocational Training: Isabel Celaá Diéguez
  • Minister for Work and Social Economy: Yolanda Díaz Pérez
  • Minister for Industry, Trade and Tourism: Reyes Maroto Illera
  • Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Food: Luis Planas Puchades
  • Minister for Territorial Policy and Public Function: Carolina Darias San Sebastián
  • Minister for Culture and Sport: José Manuel Rodríguez Uribes
  • Minister for Health: Salvador Illa Roca
  • Minister for Science and Innovation: Pedro Duque Duque
  • Minister for Equality: Irene Montero Gil
  • Minister for Consumer Affairs: Alberto Garzón Espinosa
  • Minister for Inclusion, Social Security and Migration: José Luis Escrivá Belmonte
  • Minister for Universities: Manuel Castells Oliván

Non official translation

More Info