You are in:

Pedro Sánchez will chair the opening ceremony alongside Antonio Guterres

Some 50 world leaders will attend the Climate Summit that starts on Monday in Madrid

Thursday 28 November 2019

The most senior representatives from the European Union and various international institutions will also attend, which will send delegations to Madrid for the event from 2 to 13 December. This means every country of the world will be represented to some extent.

The Spanish organisers consider this representation as "highly relevant and of great value", especially after the change of venue that was announced only a month ago, when many participants already had their travel plans confirmed, with none having planned a trip to Madrid in their agenda. Spain accepted this challenge following a proposal from the Acting President of the Government, Pedro Sánchez. The proposal was approved by the UN on 1 November, in record time given that the usual preparation period for previous conferences has always been at least one year.

The opening session on Monday will be attended by every country in the world, some 50 of them represented by their Heads of State or Government, all the presidents of the European Union institutions and a significant representation from Latin American countries, despite the tumultuous situation in that region. Some 15 European prime ministers will attend, from France to Portugal. Those coming from Latin America will include the President of Argentina, Mauricio Macri, and the President of Ecuador, Lenin Moreno, among others.

The United States, a country that has announced its withdrawal from the Paris Agreement, will send a delegation of 16 members of congress and the senate, led by Nancy Pelosi, the Speaker of the House of Representatives. Morocco is sending its Prime Minister, Nasser Bourita.

The summit will also be attended by the most senior representatives from international institutions, such as the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) and representatives from the new European Commission, led by its president, Ursula von der Leyen, alongside Josep Borrell, EU High Representative for the Common Foreign and Security Policy, as well as the President of the European Council, Charles Michel, and the President of the European Parliament, David Sassoli.

Non official translation